2019 ASLO Award Recipients


Oscar Schofield (Rutgers University)
The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award honors a scientist who has made considerable contributions to knowledge in limnology and oceanography, and whose future work promises a continuing legacy of scientific excellence. Dr. Oscar Schofield is the 2019 awardee for transforming our understanding of the physical and chemical processes that govern marine phytoplankton physiology and ecology through the application of novel ocean observing tools, and for his skillful and enthusiastic leadership of the collaborative science necessary for addressing broad scale oceanographic challenges.
Read complete citation | View award presentation | Interview


Andrea G. Bravo (Institute of Marine Sciences, Barcelona)
The Raymond L. Lindeman Award honors a young author for an outstanding peer-reviewed, English-language paper in the aquatic sciences. The 2019 awardee is Dr. Andrea Bravo for her paper, “Molecular composition of organic matter controls methylmercury formation in boreal lakes”, which challenges the traditional mercury cycle by demonstrating the role of organic matter composition on bacterial activity, and ultimately, on mercury methylation rates in boreal lakes.
Read complete citation | View award presentation | Interview


Stephen Carpenter (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
The Alfred C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award award honors major, long-term achievements in the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education, and service to the community and society. Dr. Stephen Carpenter is the 2019 recipient in recognition of his remarkable contributions to the field of limnology and lake management; including major advances in our understanding of trophic cascades, eutrophication, regime shifts, fisheries sustainability, and social ecological systems via approaches that confront theory with large-scale collaborative experimentation, long-term lake surveys, community outreach, and education.
Read complete citation | View award presentation | Interview


Jennifer Tank (University of Notre Dame)
The Ruth Patrick Award honors scientists who have applied the aquatic sciences towards solving critical environmental problems. Dr. Jennifer Tank is the 2019 recipient for her significant contributions to aquatic biogeochemistry, applying those fundamental concepts to human-impacted agricultural landscapes, and informing how conservation practices influence stream management through community engagement.
Read complete citation | View award presentation | Interview


Philip W. Boyd (University of Tasmania, Hobart) and co-authors
The John H. Martin Award recognizes a paper in aquatic sciences that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field. The 2019 Martin Award is for Boyd et al., 2000, A mesoscale phytoplankton bloom in the polar Southern Ocean stimulated by iron fertilization (Nature 407:695-702). Boyd and co-authors found that iron enrichment led to an increase in phytoplankton biomass and rate of photosynthesis in surface waters; but the increased carbon fixation was not necessarily followed by enhanced carbon fluxes and sequestration as predicted by Martin’s “iron hypothesis".
Read complete citation | View award presentation


David Fields (Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Science)
The Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education honors excellence in teaching and mentoring in the fields of limnology and oceanography. The 2019 awardee is Dr. David Fields for his enthusiastic leadership and effusive commitment to developing transformative, hands-on marine science education programs, and for creating opportunities for authentic science experiences for high school and college students from all backgrounds.
Read complete citation | View award presentation | Interview


Robert Spencer (Florida State University)
The Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award honors an early-career scientist for outstanding and balanced contributions to research, science training, and broader societal issues such as resource management, conservation, policy, and public education. The 2019 recipient is Dr. Robert Spencer, for his contributions to our understanding of the biogeochemical processes involving the production, fate and transport of organic matter in terrestrial, freshwater and marine environments, and his projections on how anthropogenic impacts will affect these processes.
Read complete citation | View award presentation | Interview

Scroll to Top