2023 ASLO Award Recipients

John Dabiri 200px

John O. Dabiri
The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award honors a scientist who has made considerable contributions to knowledge in limnology and oceanography, and whose future work promises a continuing legacy of scientific excellence. John O. Dabiri (the California Institute of Technology) is the winner of the 2023 G. E. Hutchinson Award for stretching the boundaries of aquatic science by demonstrating that the fluid dynamic lessons learned from planktonic organisms have broad applications, from undersea vehicles to wind turbines.

Read complete citation

Marie-Pier Hébert 200px

Marie-Pier Hébert
The Raymond L. Lindeman Award honors a young author for an outstanding peer-reviewed, English-language paper in the aquatic sciences. The 2023 Lindeman Award is being presented to Marie-Pier Hébert (University of Vermont) for her paper, "Warming winters in lakes: Later ice onset promotes consumer overwintering and shapes springtime planktonic food webs” showing warming winters that delay ice onset have important cross-season consequences by promoting both bottom-up and top-down forcing on lake plankton communities during winter that shape community structure and function at the start of the growing season

Read complete citation 

Nancy Grimm 200px

Nancy B. Grimm
The Alfred C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award honors major, long-term achievements in the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education, and service to the community and society. The recipient of the 2023 A.C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award is Nancy B. Grimm (Arizona State University) for transformative and critical insights on the impacts of human activities and climate change on the biogeochemistry in urban and inland waters.

Read complete citation 

Dongyan Liu 200px

Dongyan Liu
The Ruth Patrick Award honors scientists who have applied the aquatic sciences towards solving critical environmental problems. Dongyan Liu (East China Normal University) is the 2023 Ruth Patrick Award winner for discovering that the Yellow Sea green tide phenomenon initiated with intensive coastal aquaculture, for her research on the biophysical mechanisms and physiological attributes of the algae that explain the extraordinary growth and spread of the blooms, and for her work on mitigation of this significant environmental problem.

Read complete citation 

David A. Hutchins 200px
Kenneth Bruland 200px

David A. Hutchins and Kenneth W. Bruland 
The John H. Martin Award recognizes a paper in aquatic science that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field. The 1998 paper “Iron-limited diatom growth and Si:N uptake ratios in a coastal upwelling regime” by David A. Hutchins (University of Southern California) and Kenneth W. Bruland (University of California, Santa Cruz) is the 2023 Martin Award winner in recognition for resolving how iron availability can shape primary productivity, elemental composition, and carbon export in marine coastal plankton communities.

Read complete citation

Yannick Huot 200px

Yannick Huot
The Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education honors excellence in teaching and mentoring in the fields of limnology and oceanography. The 2023 Margalef Award winner is Yannick Huot (University of Sherbrooke) whose leadership of the NSERC Canadian Lake Pulse network secured support, training, and mentorship of several large cohorts of undergraduate and graduate students as well as post-doctoral fellows within a unique multidisciplinary platform

Read complete citation

Diane M. Orihel 200px

Diane M. Orihel
The Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award honors an early-career scientist for outstanding and balanced contributions to research, science training, and broader societal issues such as resource management, conservation, policy, and public education. Diane M. Orihel (Queen’s University) is the 2023 Yentsch-Schindler Award winner for her outstanding contributions to the study of environmental pollutants in freshwater ecosystems, her efforts to make science more accessible, her commitment to teaching and mentorship, and for her advocacy to preserve the Experimental Lakes Area.

Read complete citation

Related Images:

Scroll to Top