2016 ASLO Award Recipients


Jack Middelburg, Utrecht University
The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award honors a scientist who has made considerable contributions to knowledge in limnology and oceanography, and whose future work promises a continuing legacy of scientific excellence. It is being presented to Jack Middelburg of Utrecht University for his pivotal contribution to the development of concepts and models incorporating the role of aquatic biota on carbon and nutrient cycling in aquatic ecosystems. 
View award presentation


John Dolan, Observatoire Océanologique de Villefranche-sur-Mer
The Tommy and Yvette Edmondson Distinguished Service Award recognizes members who have displayed exceptional efforts that support the professional goals and enhance the stature of ASLO. John Dolan of the Observatoire Océanologique de Villefranche-sur-Mer is the 2016 recipient of the Tommy and Yvette Edmonson Service Award, in recognition of his outstanding and extended contributions to the L&O Bulletin and to ASLO through his overall service.


Erin Hotchkiss, Université du Québec à Montréal
The Raymond L. Lindeman Award honors a young author for an outstanding peer-reviewed, English-language paper in the aquatic sciences. It is being presented to Erin Hotchkiss at the Université du Québec à Montréal. The award recognizes Dr. Hotchkiss’s Limnology and Oceanography paper entitled, "High rates of daytime respiration in three streams: Use of δ18OO2 and O2 to model diel ecosystem metabolism".
View award presentation


Evelyn Sherr and Barry Sherr, Oregon State University
The Alfred C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award award honors major, long-term achievements in the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education, and service to the community and society. Evelyn Sherr and Barry Sherr of Oregon State University are the 2016 recipients of the A.C Redfield Award for their lifetime research on food-web interactions, protists, and the factors controlling the activity, growth, and survival of aquatic microorganisms.
View award presentation


Josette Garnier and Gilles Billen, Pierre and Marie Curie University
The Ruth Patrick Award honors a scientist who has applied the aquatic sciences towards solving critical environmental problems. It is being presented to Josette Garnier and Gilles Billen of the Pierre and Marie Curie University in acknowledgement of their sustained, innovative, high-impact contributions to the science and policy of eutrophication in rivers and estuaries, both at home and around the globe.
View award presentation


Accepted by Jonathan Cole on behalf of all authors
The John H. Martin Award recognizes a paper in aquatic sciences that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field. The 2016 Martin Award is for "Carbon dioxide supersaturation in the surface waters of lakes" by Jonathan Cole, Nina Caraco, George Kling and Tim Kratz. Cole et al (1994) documented that lakes are often supersaturated with CO2 and focused attention on inland waters as sources of carbon to the atmosphere.
View award presentation


Kenneth H. Dunton, University of Texas at Austin’s Marine Science Institute
The Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education honors excellence in teaching and mentoring in the fields of limnology and oceanography. It is awarded to Kenneth H. Dunton of the University of Texas at Austin’s Marine Science Institute. Dunton is recognized for being a visionary and continually creating new and innovative approaches to bridge science and education, bringing hands-on, real world outreach into local communities, and training science teachers and the next generation of marine scientists and ecologists.
View award presentation


Angelicque White, Oregon State University
The Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award honors an early-career scientist for outstanding and balanced contributions to research, science training, and broader societal issues such as resource management, conservation, policy, and public education. The 2016 recipient is Angelicque White of Oregon State University, for her groundbreaking, multidisciplinary research to improve our understanding of biological and physical relationships in the ocean, her dedication to develop and expand experiential learning opportunities for students, and her commitment to the promotion of underrepresented groups and engagement of the public in science issues.
View award presentation

Scroll to Top