2024 ASLO Award Recipients

Hutchinson2024_Kujawinski 200px

Elizabeth B. Kujawinski
The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award honors a scientist who has made considerable contributions to knowledge in limnology and oceanography, and whose future work promises a continuing legacy of scientific excellence. The 2024 Hutchinson Award is being presented to Dr. Elizabeth B. Kujawinski for her groundbreaking research in marine chemistry and marine metabolomics and her unwavering commitment to service and leadership in the ocean science community.

Read complete citation | View award presentation

Lindeman2024_LaBrie 200px

Richard LaBrie
The Raymond L. Lindeman Award honors a young author for an outstanding peer-reviewed, English-language paper in the aquatic sciences. The 2024 Lindeman award will be presented to Dr. Richard LaBrie for his 2022 paper "Deep ocean microbial communities produce more stable dissolved organic matter through the succession of rare prokaryotes". This paper highlights an innovative experimental approach demonstrating that microbial communities strongly control the recalcitrance and fate of dissolved organic matter with implications for carbon exchange between the oceans and the atmosphere.

Read complete citation 

John Smol

John Smol
The Alfred C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award honors major, long-term achievements in the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education, and service to the community and society. ASLO is presenting the 2024 Redfield Award to Dr. John Smol for leadership in the development and application of the field of paleolimnology. His work has established the use of lake sediment records and indicator species to identify water quality problems, monitor ecosystem fluctuations, and to track changing climate.

Read complete citation 

Wandering Beagle Photography
-CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Bernard W. Sweeney
The Ruth Patrick Award honors scientists who have applied the aquatic sciences towards solving critical environmental problems. The 2024 Ruth Patrick Award will be presented to Dr. Bernard W. Sweeney for a wide range of outstanding scientific achievements focused on root causes of degradation in aquatic ecosystems and for ensuring that these findings resulted in improved management and restoration.

Read complete citation 

Paul Hanson, senior scientist in the Center For Limnology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is pictured on March 16, 2011. Hanson is a recipient of a 2011 Academic Staff Award. (Photo by Jeff Miller/UW-Madison)

Paul Hanson et al. 
The John H. Martin Award recognizes a paper in aquatic science that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field. The 2024 John H. Martin Award is being presented to “Lake metabolism: Relationships with dissolved organic carbon and phosphorus” by Hanson et al. for showing that lakes experience seasonal net heterotrophy, except in cases of high phosphorus and high primary production.

Read complete citation

Margalef_BobChen 200px

Robert Chen
The Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education honors excellence in teaching and mentoring in the fields of limnology and oceanography. The 2024 Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education is presented to Dr. Robert F. (Bob) Chen for his unparalleled enthusiasm, skills, and dedication to improving young scientists’ abilities in and commitment to broader impacts.

Read complete citation

YentschSchindler2024_Dugan 200px

Hilary Dugan
The Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award honors an early-career scientist for outstanding and balanced contributions to research, science training, and broader societal issues such as resource management, conservation, policy, and public education. The 2024 Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award is being presented to Dr. Hilary Dugan for her exceptional, balanced contributions to our understanding of salinization of freshwater ecosystems and winter limnology, and for her commitment to scientific mentorship and impact-creation via proactive, open-science translation to resource managers and the public.

Read complete citation

Scroll to Top