2017 ASLO Award Recipients


Philip Boyd (University of Tasmania, Australia)
The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award honors a scientist who has made considerable contributions to knowledge in limnology and oceanography, and whose future work promises a continuing legacy of scientific excellence. Philip Boyd (University of Tasmania, Australia) is the 2017 award winner for his pioneering work on the complex interactions of biogeochemistry, climate change multiple drivers, and their impacts on ocean planktonic ecosystems.
View award presentation


Shawn Devlin (University of Montana, Flathead Lake Biological Station)
The Raymond L. Lindeman Award honoring a young author for an outstanding peer-reviewed, English-language paper in the aquatic sciences is being presented to Shawn Devlin (University of Montana, Flathead Lake Biological Station). Devlin and colleagues’ Nature Communications paper entitled, “Top consumer abundance influences lake methane efflux” documents a novel whole-ecosystem experiment showing that food web structure can control methane efflux from lakes.
View award presentation


Bo Barker Jørgensen (University of Aarhus Center for Geomicrobiology)
The Alfred C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award award honors major, long-term achievements in the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education, and service to the community and society. Bo Barker Jørgensen (University of Aarhus Center for Geomicrobiology) is the 2017 recipient of the A.C Redfield Award for fundamental contributions to unraveling the ecology and biogeochemical interactions of microbes in environments ranging from surface sediments to the deep biosphere.
View award presentation


Walter Boynton (University of Maryland’s Center for Environmental Science, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory)
The Ruth Patrick Award honors scientists who have applied the aquatic sciences towards solving critical environmental problems. Walter Boynton (University of Maryland’s Center for Environmental Science, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory) is the 2017 recipient of the Ruth Patrick Award for his research to solve environmental problems and shape policy with long-lasting impacts on estuarine ecosystems.


Robert Sterner (University of Minnesota Duluth) and Dag Hessen (University of Oslo)
The John H. Martin Award recognizes a paper in aquatic sciences that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field. The 2017 Martin Award is for “Algal nutrient limitation and the nutrition of aquatic herbivores” by Robert Sterner and Dag Hessen. Sterner and Hessen (1994) created a major paradigm shift in our understanding of producer-consumer interactions and the biogeochemistry of C, N, and P, and is one of the founding contributions to the field of "Ecological Stoichiometry”.
View award presentation


Caroline Solomon (Gallaudet University)
Award Presentation at ASLO Summer Meeting, Santa Fe
The Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education honoring excellence in teaching and mentoring in the fields of limnology and oceanography is awarded to Caroline Solomon (Gallaudet University). Solomon is recognized for her extraordinary accomplishments in bringing the deaf and hearing worlds in science together, coupled with her exceptional skill as a mentor, educator, and leader to inspire us all.
View award presentation


Meghan Duffy (University of Michigan)
The Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award honors an early-career scientist for outstanding and balanced contributions to research, science training, and broader societal issues such as resource management, conservation, policy, and public education. The 2017 recipient is Meghan Duffy (University of Michigan), for her transformative research involving parasitism as a food-web process and her influential mentoring of undergraduate students.
View award presentation

Scroll to Top