Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award


In 2012, the Board initiated a new annual award in honor of early career scientists. The award was named after eminent limnologist, David Schindler (who passed away on March 4, 2021; please see tribute in this L&O Bulletin article) and visionary educator and oceanographer Clarice Yentsch.  The Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award honors an aquatic scientist normally within 12 years of the completion of their terminal degree, for outstanding and balanced contributions to research, science training, and broader societal issues such as resource management, conservation, policy, and public education. This award is for an individual.


Each nomination must be supported by a letter (not to exceed two pages) on qualifications. Ideally this letter should include statements that would form the basis of the citation and the presentation speech at the ASLO meeting. The nomination package may also include a list of important publications and other pertinent information, but in total this package shall be no more than 3 pages. In addition, the nomination package may include a statement that provides information on personal events that have influenced EC career achievements. These may include time required to have a family, deal with personal or family illness, do charity work, or be involved in political action.

The nomination should also be supported by 3 letters of endorsement of no more than 1 page each. These letters should indicate the breadth of support for the nominees and the perspectives of different individuals to clearly indicate the breadth of contributions of the nominee.


Hilary Dugan (2024), for her exceptional, balanced contributions to our understanding of salinization of freshwater ecosystems and winter limnology, and for her commitment to scientific mentorship and impact-creation via proactive, open-science translation to resource managers and the public. Read complete citation

Diane M. Orihel (2023), for her outstanding contributions to the study of environmental pollutants in freshwater ecosystems, her efforts to make science more accessible, her commitment to teaching and mentorship, and for her advocacy to preserve the Experimental Lakes Area. Read complete citation

Diva Amon (2022) for her outstanding scientific research, communication, and policy contributions to the field of deep-sea biodiversity and ocean-health research which have created lasting, measurable international impact and driven equitable deep ocean conservation, protection, and policy-making.  Read complete citation

Davi Gasparini Fernandes Cunha (2021), for outstanding contributions to research on water quality, nutrient dynamics, and aquatic ecosystem health with direct translation of results to decisively influence policy makers in South America, an exceptional commitment to mentorship, and the implementation of novel citizen science-based approaches to address water management challenges Read complete citation | View award presentation

Dedmer van de Waal  (2020), ffor his outstanding fundamental research on the impacts of global change on harmful algal bloom dynamics and toxicity in freshwater and marine systems, scaling from physiological responses at the cellular level to ecological processes at the community level, and for his deep involvement in translating these complex scientific results into a language understandable by the public. Read complete citation | View award presentation

Robert Spencer (2019), for his contributions to our understanding of the biogeochemical processes involving the production, fate and transport of organic matter in terrestrial, freshwater and marine environments, and his projections on how anthropogenic impacts will affect these processes. Read complete citation | View award presentation

Cayelan Carey (2018), for outstanding and balanced contributions to research on the causes and effects of cyanobacterial blooms, science training, and broader societal issues such as lake and reservoir management, drinking water policy, and public education. Read complete citation | View award presentation

Meghan Duffy (2017), for her transformative research involving parasitism as a food-web process and her influential mentoring of undergraduate students. View award presentation

Angelicque White (2016), for her groundbreaking, multidisciplinary research to improve our understanding of biological and physical relationships in the ocean, her dedication to develop and expand experiential learning opportunities for students, and her commitment to the promotion of underrepresented groups and engagement of the public in science issues. View award presentation

Matthew Church (2015) is recognized for his broad-based research in microbial oceanography from genomes to biomes, effective training and mentorship of diverse international scholars, and unselfish community service. View award presentation

Andrew J. Pershing (2014), for his work on fundamental and applied projects with a perspective ranging from the individual organism to the global scale, a truly integrative approach to environmental science. View award presentation

Emily S. Bernhardt (2013), for her contributions in research on stream biogeochemistry and restoration, public policy on mountain-top mining, and graduate training in her early career. View award presentation

Scroll to Top