Tommy and Yvette Edmondson Distinguished Service Award


This award was initiated in 1993, to recognize members who have displayed exceptional efforts that support the professional goals and enhance the stature of ASLO. In 2009, the award was renamed the Tommy and Yvette Edmondson Distinguished Service Award, in recognition of their long and remarkable service to the society. While this award is intended for individuals, under exceptional circumstances a pair/team may be considered.


Contact the ASLO President indicating the justification for the nomination and the names of those supporting it.


John Dolan (2016), in recognition of his outstanding and extended contributions to the L&O Bulletin and to ASLO through his overall service.

Helen Schneider Lemay and the Schneider Group, Inc. (2011), for extraordinary service in support of ASLO members, the operation of the ASLO Board of Directors, and the implementation of ASLO projects and strategic plan. Their outstanding service has rendered Helen Schneider and The Schneider Group a pillar and a symbol of the healthy scientific society they have contributed to develop. View award presentation

Paul Kemp and Susana Feng (2009), for creating, maintaining, and enhancing the ubiquitous web presence of ASLO; for launching and building L&O: Methods into a respected journal; and for their extensive, unremunerated contributions to the modern face and function of ASLO. View award presentation

Peter Jumars (2008) for more than 27 years of service in all aspects of the society, including serving on committees and the ASLO Board, serving as Editor of Limnology and Oceanography, and representing ASLO on the Council of Scientific Society Presidents. View award presentation

C. Susan Weiler (2007) for outstanding leadership in the professional development and mentoring of the next generation of aquatic scientists.

Everett Fee (2001) for his many outstanding efforts as Editor of Limnology and Oceanography.

Yvette H. Edmondson (1999) for establishing and maintaining Limnology and Oceanography as the premier journal in both disciplines during her long tenure as Editor, for maintaining exemplary standards while encouraging students and first-time authors, and for her many contributions to the Society.

Polly A. Penhale (1997) for her valuable ideas, insights and advice concerning society operations and programs, for fostering collaborations with other societies, and especially for developing annual and other meetings to bring together the full range of aquatic sciences.

John G. Stockner (1996) in appreciation of the outstanding and many years of service that he has provided to the Society.

Raelyn Cole (1996) for more than 30 years of service to the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography, during which time [she] consistently maintained the highest technical standards possible for the journal Limnology and Oceanography.

Benjamin E. Cuker (1993), in recognition of his efforts to increase the representation of minorities in the aquatic sciences.

Scroll to Top