2019 ASLO Award Presentations

Society awards will be presented during the plenary sessions Monday through Thursday. Following is a list of the 2019 award recipients and the day on which they will accept their award. Complete information on each award recipient including complete citations for each award are available on the ASLO web site: https://aslo.org/page/2019-award-recipients.

2019 Ruth Patrick Award

Monday, 25 February 2019, 11:00 to 12:30
Ballroom A – Puerto Rico Convention Center

Jennifer Tank, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Indiana

The Ruth Patrick Award honors scientists who have made outstanding contributions towards solving environmental problems. This year, ASLO recognizes Jennifer Tank with the 2019 Ruth Patrick Award for her significant contributions to aquatic biogeochemistry, applying those fundamental concepts to human-impacted agricultural landscapes, and informing how conservation practices influence stream management through community engagement. Tank is the Galla Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of Notre Dame and Director of the Notre Dame Environmental Change Initiative.

2019 A.C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award

Tuesday, 26 February 2019, 11:00 to 12:30
Ballroom A – Puerto Rico Convention Center

Stephen Carpenter, Center for Limnology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin

The A.C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement award honors major, long-term achievements in the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education, and service to the community and society. Stephen R. Carpenter is the 2019 recipient of the A.C. Redfield Award in recognition of his remarkable contributions to the field of limnology and lake management; including major advances in our understanding of trophic cascades, eutrophication, regime shifts, fisheries sustainability, and social ecological systems via approaches that confront theory with large-scale collaborative experimentation, long-term lake surveys, community outreach, and education.

2019 Ramón Margalef Award

Wednesday, 27 February 2019, 11:00 to 12:30
Ballroom A – Puerto Rico Convention Center

David Fields, Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences, East Boothbay, Maine

The Ramón Margalef Award is given to scientists and educators for excellence in teaching and mentoring in the fields of limnology and oceanography. David Fields of the Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences has been awarded this distinguished honor for his enthusiastic leadership and effusive commitment to developing transformative, hands-on marine science education programs, and for creating opportunities for authentic science experiences for high school and college students from all backgrounds.

2019 Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award

Wednesday, 27 February 2019, 11:00 to 12:30
Ballroom A – Puerto Rico Convention Center

Robert Spencer, Department of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Science, Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida

The Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award honors an early-career scientist for outstanding and balanced contributions to research, education and society. Robert Spencer is the 2019 recipient of the Yentsch-Schindler Award for his contributions to our understanding of the biogeochemical processes involving the production, fate and transport of organic matter in terrestrial, freshwater and marine environments, and his projections on how anthropogenic impacts will affect these processes. Spencer is an associate professor at Florida State University.

2019 John H. Martin Award

Thursday, 28 February 2019, 11:00 to 12:30
Ballroom A – Puerto Rico Convention Center

Accepted via video on behalf of co-authors by Phillip Boyd, Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, University of Tasmania, Hobart, Australia

ASLO presents the John H. Martin Award to one paper each year that has led to fundamental shifts in research focus and interpretation of a large body of previous observations. The 2019 John H. Martin Award is for “A mesoscale phytoplankton bloom in the polar Southern Ocean stimulated by iron fertilization,” a paper published in 2000 by Phillip Boyd and co-authors that tested how phytoplankton respond to iron fertilization. (Lead author Philip W. Boyd and study co-authors Andrew J. Watson, Cliff S. Law, Edward R. Abraham, Thomas Trull, Rob Murdoch, Dorothee C. E. Bakker, Andrew R. Bowie, K. O. Buesseler, Hoe Chang, Matthew Charette, Peter Croot, Ken Downing, Russell Frew, Mark Gall, Mark Hadfield, Julie Hall, Mike Harvey, Greg Jameson, Julie LaRoche, Malcolm Liddicoat, Roger Ling , Maria T. Maldonado, R. Michael McKay, Scott Nodder, Stu Pickmere, Rick Pridmore, Steve Rintoul, Karl Safi, Philip Sutton, Robert Strzepek, Kim Tanneberger, Suzanne Turner, Anya Waite, and John Zeldis.
Citation: Nature. 2000 Oct 12;407(6805): 695-702.

2019 Raymond L. Lindeman Award

Thursday, 28 February 2019, 11:00 to 12:30
Ballroom A – Puerto Rico Convention Center

Andrea G. Bravo, Institute of Marine Sciences, Barcelona, Spain

The Raymond L. Lindeman Award honors a young scientist for an outstanding peer-reviewed, English-language paper in the aquatic sciences. ASLO has awarded Andrea G. Bravo the 2019 Lindeman Award for her paper, “Molecular composition of organic matter controls methylmercury formation in boreal lakes.” Bravo’s research, published in Nature Communications in 2017, challenges the traditional mercury cycle by demonstrating the role of organic matter composition on bacterial activity, and ultimately, on mercury methylation rates in boreal lakes.

2019 G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award

Friday, 1 March 2019, 11:00 to 12:30
Ballroom A – Puerto Rico Convention Center

Oscar Schofield, Department of Marine and Coastal Sciences, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey

The G. Evelyn Hutchinson award honors a limnologist or oceanographer who has made considerable contributions to knowledge, and whose future work promises a continued legacy of scientific excellence. Dr. Oscar Schofield is the 2019 recipient of the G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award for transforming our understanding of the physical and chemical processes that govern marine phytoplankton physiology and ecology through the application of novel ocean observing tools, and for his skillful and enthusiastic leadership of the collaborative science necessary for addressing broad scale oceanographic challenges. Schofield is Distinguished Professor in the Department of Marine and Coastal Sciences at Rutgers University.