Nominations Open for ASLO Awards and Fellows

Nominations Open for ASLO Awards and Fellows

ASLO is now accepting nominations for the 2024 ASLO Awards as well as nominations and applications for ASLO Fellows. The deadline for nominations for both programs is Friday, 20 October 2023 at 11:59 PM CDT (4:59 AM UTC). ASLO awardees are expected to be announced January 2024 and Fellows are expected to be announced December 2023. Read more about the ASLO Awards and Fellows below. 

ASLO Fellows and Sustaining Fellows

The ASLO Fellows program was established in 2015 to honor the sustained contributions of individual ASLO members to the society’s governance, publications and conferences. So far, we’ve acknowledged the dedication of over 150 ASLO members. ​You are encouraged to apply directly to become an ASLO Fellow or Sustaining Fellow.

Read more about the qualifications for becoming a Fellow and apply here. Don’t qualify yet, but know someone who may? Drop us their info in a very simple nomination form here. (Note: you must be logged in to view the forms).

ASLO Awards

The ASLO Awards cover all career stages and activities, providing the opportunity to recognize outstanding accomplishments across the aquatic science community. We seek nominees that reflect ASLO’s commitment to inclusion across race, gender, age, identity, and geography. ASLO Awardees are chosen exclusively from member-submitted nominations, so your nominations are critical to ensuring that scientists of diverse backgrounds are considered and represented in the ASLO Awards program.

These nominations are short, simple to prepare, and can be submitted electronically via our dedicated online nomination form (again, you must be logged in to see the form).

More detailed information about the awards can be found here.


Any aquatic scientist can be nominated for ASLO awards, with the exception of current ASLO Board and Award Committee members. Nominations for awards to individuals can be made by any ASLO member, except ASLO Board members or Award Committee members. The same limitations apply to the awards for papers (Raymond L. Lindeman or John Martin Awards) with the additional limitation that members may not nominate a paper they have co-authored. Please see this article by Wickland and Pollard (2019) in L&O Bulletin for an overview of the awards selection process.

Scroll to Top