Nominations Open for ASLO Awards and Fellows

Nominations Open for ASLO Awards and Fellows

It’s that time of year again! We are now accepting nominations for the 2023 ASLO Awards as well as nominations and applications for ASLO Fellows. The deadline for nominations for both programs is Friday, 28 October 2022 at 11:59 PM CDT (GMT -05:00). An announcement of the 2023 ASLO awardees are expected January 2023, with all award nominators informed of the outcome of their efforts in December 2022. An announcement of selected candidates for the ASLO Fellows Program is expected in December 2022. Read more about these two programs below.

ASLO Fellows

The ASLO Fellows program was established in 2015 to honor the sustained contributions of individual ASLO members to the society’s governance, publications and conferences. So far, we’ve acknowledged the dedication of over 150 ASLO members through this program. ​You are welcome to apply directly to become an ASLO Fellow or Sustaining Fellow. Read more about the qualifications for becoming a Fellow and apply here. Don’t qualify yet, but know someone who does? Drop us their info in a very simple nomination form here. (Note: you must be logged in to view the forms). Only fully completed applications will be considered.

ASLO Awards

The ASLO Awards cover all career stages and activities, providing the opportunity to recognize outstanding accomplishments across the aquatic science community. We seek nominees that reflect ASLO’s commitment to inclusion across race, gender, age, identity, and geography. ASLO Awardees are chosen exclusively from member-submitted nominations, so your nominations are critical to ensuring that scientists of diverse backgrounds are considered and represented in the ASLO Awards program.

Please note an important change to the awards nominations process: ASLO is eliminating the 3-year eligibility window for nomination packages within an award category. Previous nominations must be resubmitted to be considered in this award cycle. Resubmissions could be revised, if desired. The transmittal date on the primary nomination letter in a resubmitted package must be updated to reflect the current awards cycle.

Nominations are short, simple to make, and can be submitted electronically via our dedicated online nomination form (again, you must be logged in to see the form). Any aquatic scientist can be nominated for ASLO awards, with the exception of current ASLO Board and Award Committee members. Nominations for awards to individuals can be made by any ASLO member, except ASLO Board members or Award Committee members. The same limitations apply to the awards for papers (Raymond L. Lindeman or John Martin Awards) with the additional limitation that members may not nominate a paper they have co-authored. Please see this article by Wickland and Pollard (2019) in L&O Bulletin for an overview of the awards selection process.

Please take the time to nominate your colleagues for these awards! Brief outlines of each award are listed below, while detailed information on awards and their nomination process can be found at

  • G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award – recognizes mid-career scientists (within 25 years of their PhD) who have made considerable contributions to knowledge of limnology or oceanography, and whose future work promises a continuing legacy of scientific excellence.
  • A.C. Redfield Lifetime Award honors major, long-term achievements by senior scientists (>25 years of PhD) in any field of limnology and oceanography, including research, education and service to the community and society.
  • Raymond L. Lindeman Award recognizes an outstanding paper written in the past two years by an early career aquatic scientist.
  • John Martin Award recognizes a paper in aquatic sciences, ten or more years old, that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field.
  • Ruth Patrick Award honors outstanding research by a scientist in the application of basic aquatic science principles to the identification, analysis and/or solution of important environmental problems.
  • Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education recognizes excellence in teaching and mentoring by an aquatic scientist in the field of limnology and oceanography.
  • Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award for scientists less than 12 years beyond their PhD and who have demonstrated outstanding and balanced contributions to research, training, and broader societal issues.
  • Victoria J. Bertics Memorial Award for Aquatic Science recognizes ASLO members who could not fulfill their career potential because of early death or disability.
  • Tommy and Yvette Edmondson Distinguished Service Award recognizes members who have displayed exceptional efforts that support the professional goals and enhance the stature of ASLO.

Nominations can be received at any time before the deadline of October 28.

Please feel free to contact the ASLO Awards Committee Co-Chairs with the contact information listed below or members of the ASLO Board if you would like additional information.

We look forward to seeing your nominations!

Best wishes,

Amina I. Pollard, ASLO Awards Committee Co-Chair (; 1-202-566-2360)
Ilana Berman-Frank, ASLO Awards Committee Co-Chair (

Scroll to Top