Virtual ASLO Awards Reception Held on 1 Dec!

Virtual ASLO Awards Reception Held on 1 Dec!

ASLO honored the 2020 Awardees – 2020 Style! While we were able to present two of our awards in person at the Ocean Sciences Meeting in February, most of our 2020 award winners have not yet officially received their awards. We still hope to present the awards to them in Spain, but we couldn’t let the year come to an end without raising a glass in their honor.

So, we held an ASLO Zoom Virtual Awards Reception on Tuesday, December 1!

ASLO Awards Chair Amina Pollard introduced each of the awardees with a brief summary of their achievements. The award talks they would have presented in Madison were recorded and posted to our YouTube channel prior to the reception, for you to watch at your leisure. Following the group introduction, attendees went to breakout rooms with each of the award winners for some informal networking time.

All of the 2020 ASLO Award Winners – listed below -  were on hand for this event, along with dozens of ASLO members!

If you would like to leave a message of congratulations for our award winners, please go to:

Lastly, we’d like to remind you that nominations for the 2021 ASLO Awards are open until 13 December!

2020 ASLO Award Recipients


Daniel Schindler is the 2020 recipient of the G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award for inspiring insight about ecosystem connectivity across the fresh to saltwater continuum and how climate and landscape drive ecosystem processes.

Image by Philippe Bertini/Nice-Matin

Jean-Pierre Gattuso received the 2020 Ruth Patrick Award for his leadership in, and commitment to, addressing ocean acidification.

Hecky and Hesslein

Bob Hecky and Ray Hesslein received the 2020 John H. Martin Award for their seminal paper, “Contributions of benthic algae to lake food webs as revealed by stable isotope analysis.”


Stephanie Hampton received the 2020 Ramon Margalef Award for her outstanding contributions in the training and mentoring of young scientists with an emphasis on collaboration, data sharing and networking that have engaged researchers at all levels.


Dedmer van de Waal is the 2020 Yentsch-Schindler Award winner for his outstanding fundamental research on the impacts of global change on harmful algal bloom dynamics and toxicity in freshwater and marine systems, scaling from physiological responses at the cellular level to ecological processes at the community level, and for his deep involvement in translating these complex scientific results into a language understandable by the public.


Cristina Romera-Castillo received the 2020 Raymond Lindeman Award in recognition of the paper, “Dissolved organic carbon leaching from plastics stimulates microbial activity in the ocean”published in Nature Communications.
view video presentation


Sybil P. Seitzinger is the 2020 recipient of the A.C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of her critical research on the nutrient biogeochemistry of coastal and freshwater ecosystems spanning from molecular organic chemical characterization to global scale models and the application of new knowledge.
view video presentation

Scroll to Top