2017 Award Nominations

Nomination deadline 14 October

ASLO is now soliciting nominations for its 2017 Awards, to be presented at the ASLO 2017 Aquatic Sciences Meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii (26 February - 3 March, 2017). The deadline for nominations is Friday 14 October, 2016.  Decisions are expected during November, and all nominators will be informed of the outcome of their efforts in late 2016.

Awards cover all career stages and activities, providing the opportunity to recognize the outstanding individual and group accomplishments across the aquatic science research community. Nominations are short, simple to make, and can be submitted electronically via our dedicated online nomination form. We are seeking a diverse slate of nominations, and in particular encourage early and mid-career colleagues to consider leading a nomination. Any aquatic scientist can be nominated for ASLO awards, with the exception of current ASLO Board and Award Committee members. Please take the time to nominate your colleagues for these awards!  Detailed information on awards and their nomination process can be found at http://aslo.org/information/awards.html.

  • G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award - recognizes mid-career scientists (within 25 years of their PhD) who have made considerable contributions to knowledge of limnology or oceanography, and whose future work promises a continuing legacy of scientific excellence.
  • A.C. Redfield Lifetime Award  honors major, long-term achievements by senior scientists (>25 years of PhD) in any field of limnology and oceanography, including research, education and service to the community and society.
  • Raymond L. Lindeman Award  recognizes an outstanding paper written in the past two years by a young aquatic scientist.
  • John Martin Award  recognizes a paper in aquatic sciences, ten or more years old, that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field.
  • Ruth Patrick Award honors outstanding research by a scientist in the application of basic aquatic science principles to the identification, analysis and/or solution of important environmental problems.
  • Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education recognizes excellence in teaching and mentoring by an aquatic scientist in the field of limnology and oceanography.
  • Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award for scientists less than 12 years beyond their PhD and who have demonstrated outstanding and balanced contributions to research, training, and broader societal issues.
  • Victoria J. Bertics Memorial Award for Aquatic Science recognizes ASLO members who could not fulfill their career potential because of early death or disability.
  • Tommy and Yvette Edmondson Distinguished Service Award recognizes members who have displayed exceptional efforts that support the professional goals and enhance the stature of ASLO.
Recent Stories
Announcing the newest LOREX students!

Nominations for ASLO Board of Directors

ASLO LOREX Webinar: Writing Effective Abstracts and Summaries