ASLO Awards Committees

G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award Subcommittee
This award is intended for a mid-career scientist who has contributed significantly to the field of aquatic sciences in the preceding 5-10 years and who exemplifies the standards of scholarship and creativity set by Hutchinson's work in limnology and oceanography.

Raymond L. Lindeman Subcommittee
The Lindeman Award recognizes an outstanding paper publishd by a young limnologist or oceanographer during the previous two years.

A.C Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award Subcommittee
This award recognizes an aquatic scientist who has made extraordinary, long-term contributions to the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education, and service within and beyond the aquatic sciences community.

John Martin Award Subcommittee
This award recognizes a paper in aquatic sciences that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field. It will be given to at most one paper per year. Unlike the Lindeman Award, which recognizes very recent papers (within 2 years) by young investigators, the Martin Award is for papers at least 10 years old.

Ruth Patrick Award Subcommittee
This award recognizes outstanding research that has had a major influence on society through the application of basic aquatic sciences principles to the identification, analysis, and/or solution of important environmental problems.

Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education Subcommittee
The Excellence in Education Award is presented to the ASLO member who best exemplifies the highest standards of excellence in education.

Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award Subcommittee
This award honors an aquatic scientist within 12 years of the completion of their terminal degree, for outstanding and balanced contributions to research, science training, and broader societal issues such as resource management, conservation, policy, public education, and scientific service.

Scroll to Top