2020 Awards Virtual Reception

Please join us for an ASLO Zoom Virtual Awards Reception on Tuesday, December 1 at 12:00 pm US EST.  

You are cordially invited to help us honor the ASLO Awardees – 2020 Style! While we were able to present two of our awards in person at the Ocean Sciences Meeting in February, most of our 2020 award winners have not yet received their awards. We hope to present the awards to them in Spain, but we couldn’t let the year come to an end without raising a glass in their honor.  

ASLO Awards Chair Amina Pollard will introduce each of the awardees with a brief summary of their achievements. The award talks they would have presented in Madison are being pre-recorded and will be posted on our YouTube channel prior to the event for you to watch at your leisure (the two talks from OSM are already posted)Following the group introduction, we will create breakout rooms for each award winner for some informal networking time.  

While we are all a bit Zoomed out, we hope you can join us for this brief celebration. All of the 2020 ASLO Award Winners will be on hand for this event. We would love to see as many of you as possible on the screen, too!  

Please register for the reception using the quick form at the bottom of this page.

2020 ASLO Award Recipients


Daniel Schindler is the 2020 recipient of the G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award for inspiring insight about ecosystem connectivity across the fresh to saltwater continuum and how climate and landscape drive ecosystem processes.
view video presentation



Image by Philippe Bertini/Nice-Matin

Jean-Pierre Gattuso received the 2020 Ruth Patrick Award for his leadership in, and commitment to, addressing ocean acidification.
view video presentation



Hecky and Hesslein

ASLO presents the John H. Martin Award to one paper each year that has led to fundamental shifts in research focus and interpretation of a large body of previous observations. The 2020 award is for “Contributions of benthic algae to lake food webs as revealed by stable isotope analysis” by Bob Hecky and Ray Hesslein.
view video presentation



Stephanie Hampton received the 2020 Ramon Margalef Award for her outstanding contributions in the training and mentoring of young scientists with an emphasis on collaboration, data sharing and networking that have engaged researchers at all levels.
view video presentation




Dedmer van de Waal is the 2020 Yentsch-Schindler Award winner for his outstanding fundamental research on the impacts of global change on harmful algal bloom dynamics and toxicity in freshwater and marine systems, scaling from physiological responses at the cellular level to ecological processes at the community level, and for his deep involvement in translating these complex scientific results into a language understandable by the public.
view video presentation



Cristina Romera-Castillo received the 2020 Raymond Lindeman Award in recognition of the paper, “Dissolved organic carbon leaching from plastics stimulates microbial activity in the ocean”published in Nature Communications.
view video presentation



Sybil P. Seitzinger is the 2020 recipient of the A.C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of her critical research on the nutrient biogeochemistry of coastal and freshwater ecosystems spanning from molecular organic chemical characterization to global scale models and the application of new knowledge.
view video presentation





Scroll to Top