SS3.04 Biogeochemistry of DOC/DON in a Watershed Context
Date: Wednesday, June 12, 2002
Time: 2:30:00 PM
Location: Carson B
 
CooperWJ, UNC Wilmington, Wilmington, USA, cooperw@uncwil.edu
Avery, G, B, UNC Wilmington, Wilmington, USA, averyg@uncwil.edu
Durako, M, J, UNC Wilmington, Wilmington, USA, durakom@uncwil.edu
Kieber, R, J, UNC Wilmington, Wilmington, USA, kieberr@uncwil.edu
Kowalczuk, P, , UNC Wilmington, Wilmington, USA, kowalczukp@uncwil.edu
Skrabal, S, A, UNC Wilmington, Wilmington, USA, skrabals@uncwil.edu
Whitehead, R, F, UNC Wilmington, Wilmington, USA, whiteheadrf@uncwil.edu
Willey, J, D, UNC Wilmington, Wilmington, USA, Willeyj@uncwil.edu
 
CHARACTERIZATION OF CDOM IN AN ORGANIC RICH RIVER AND SURROUNDING COASTAL OCEAN
image
This study has as its goal the characterization of colored dissolved organic carbon (CDOM) in and around the Cape Fear River. The river end members of the study are extremely rich in CDOM and the Cape Fear River serves as a point source of water into the southeastern Atlantic bight. The river plume is easily traceable in a southerly direction along the coastline into Long Bay. Depending upon winds, the plume can meander somewhat and may even turn northward for short periods of time. The other end member of this study is the Gulf Stream and samples are taken up to 60 miles off shore. This is the first report of an on-going study to characterize the CDOM in and around this river-estuary-coastal ocean system. The techniques that are used to characterize the CDOM are excitation emission matrix and UV/vis spectroscopy and dissolved organic carbon. Exposure of water isolated from the plume suggests that it is highly photochemically active and there are rapid changes in spectra of the CDOM. Ultimately this study will be coupled with spectral reflectance and diffuse attenuation coefficient for down welling irradiance to be integrated in algorithms in both bio-optical and ocean color models.