SS3.12 Large Scale Ecosystem Manipulations
Date: Thursday, June 13, 2002
Time: 2:45:00 PM
Location: Carson C
 
HeyesA, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, Solomons, MD, USA, Heyes@cbl.umces.edu
Harris, R, , Tetra Tech Inc., Oakville, ONT, Canada, rharris6@cogeco.ca
Rudd, J, W, Freshwater Institute, Dept. of Fisheries and Oceans, Winnipeg, MAN, Canada, RuddJ@DFO-MPO.GC.CA
Krabbenhoft, D, P, United States Geological Survey, Madison, USA, dpkrabbe@usgs.gov
Gilmour, C, C, Academy of Natural Sciences, Estuarine Research Center, St. Leonard, MD, USA, gilmour@acnatsci.org
Kelly, C, A, Freshwater Institute, Dept. of Fisheries and Oceans, Winnipeg, Canada, KellyC@DFO-MPO.GC.CA
Podemski, C, , Freshwater Institute, Dept. of Fisheries and Oceans, Winnipeg, Canada, Podemski@DFO-MPO.GC.CA
Blanchfield, P, , Freshwater Institute, Dept. of Fisheries and Oceans, Winnipeg, Canada, Blanchfield@DFO-MPO.GC.CA
St.Louis, V, , Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada, vince.stlouis@ualberta.ca
Hintelmann, H, , Trent University, Peterbourgh, Canada, hhintelmann@trentu.ca
 
METAALICUS: A Whole Ecosystem Mercury Addition Experiment
image
The METAALICUS (Mercury Experiment to Assess Atmospheric Loadings in Canada and the United States) study is being conducted in a headwater lake and its watershed in the Experimental Lake Area in northwestern Ontario, Canada to address the link between new atmospheric deposition of mercury (Hg) and Hg in fish. In 2000, three different stable isotopes of Hg were added to the upland, wetland and lake components of the watershed. Cycling of background and isotopic Hg within and between the compartments is being monitored as well as their incorporation into the food web. A number of pilot projects have been conducted over the past two years to aid in the design of the experiment and address small-scale biogeochemical and hydro-geochemical questions. The experimental design, preliminary results and advances in whole ecosystem manipulation methods will be discussed.