SS3.17 Global Mercury Cycling: From Natural to Anthropogenic Sources
Date: Tuesday, June 11, 2002
Location: Poster Session - VCC
 
SternGA, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Winnipeg, Canada, Sterng@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Macdonald, R, W, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Sidney, Canada, Macdonaldr@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Welsh, H, E, 31 Brentlawn Ave, Winnipeg, Canada, 
Delaronde, J, , Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Winnipeg, CANADA, Delarondej@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Savoie, D, , Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Winnipeg, Canada, Savoied@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Siferd, T, , Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Winnipeg, Canada, Siferdt@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Boila, G, , Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Winnipeg, CANADA, Boilag@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
 
TROPHIC TRANSFER OF MERCURY IN THE WESTERN ARCTIC OCEAN
image
From October 1997 to September 1998, a research vessel (CCGS des Groselliers) was frozen into the permanent pack to drift with the Beaufort Gyre, across the Canadian Basin, over the Chukchi Cap and then into the Makarov Basin. The SHEBA (Surface Heat Budget of the Arctic) project provided a unique opportunity to examine the physical and biological processes that deliver, redistribute and biomagnify contaminants in this region. Information on trophic transfer of mercury in marine food webs of the Arctic is severely lacking. As part of this study, mercury concentrations were measured in biota so as to examine the biological factors that influence the distribution and dynamics of mercury in the interior Canadian Basin food web. Specifically, stable isotopes of nitrogen and carbon have been used to quantify biomagnification of mercury between the following food web components; ice algae (Melosira arctica), pelagic copepods (Calanus hyperboreus, Euchaeta glacialis), predatory pelagic and benthic amphipods(Themisto abyssorum, Themisto libellula, Eurthenes gryllus), jellyfish (Cyanea), predatory arrow worms (Sagitta sp.), arctic cod (Boreogadus saida), greenland halibut (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides), thorny skates (Raja radiata) and beluga whale (Delphinapterus leucas).