2010 Taxonomy Fair

Tuesday, 8 June 2010, Time: 17:00 – 19:30
La Fonda Hotel – Santa Fe Room

The NABS Technical Issues Committee has scheduled the 12th annual taxonomy fair for the joint NABS/ASLO conference in Santa Fe. Experts will provide their time to help visitors with difficult specimen identifications and confirmations for reference collections. In addition, we expect that a local aquatic specialist from the Santa Fe area will be present for this taxonomy fair to serve as a regional generalist. Microscopes for this event will once again be provided by Martin Microscopes.

Participating Taxonomists
Taxonomist Taxonomic Group Representing Contact Information
Gail Corkum Taxonomic Certification Program Acadia University gail.corkum@acadiau.ca
Karen Gaines Odonata University of New Mexico kgaines@unm.edu
Jon Gelhaus Diptera (Tipulidae) Academy of Natural Sciences gelhaus@ansp.org
Don Klemm Hirudinea US Environmental Protection Agency klemm.donald
@epamail.epa.gov
Dan McGuire Diptera (Chironomidae) McGuire Consulting dmcguire555
@windstream.n
et
Dan Pickard Mayflies California Department of Fish and Game DPickard@csuchico.edu
Christopher Rogers Crustacea EcoAnalysts, Inc branchiopod@gmail.com
Dave Ruiter Caddisflies Unaffiliated druiter@msn.com
Sarah Spaulding Diatoms US Geological Service sarah.spaulding@usgs.gov
Ken Stewart Stoneflies University of North Texas, Dept of Biological Sciences stewart@unt.edu
Mark Wetzel Oligochaetous Clitellata Illinois Natural History Survey mjwetzel@illinois.edu

Start gathering your specimens together for this event now. Remember that you can bring specimens in alcohol on an airplane if you follow the rules and regulations. Please check with your local airport for details as they might change, but in general have specimens in vials with less that 15 ml of EtOH in clear Ziploc® bags.