Ringold, P. L.. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, ringold@mail.cor.epa.gov
Barker, J. L.. Dynamac Corporation, jbarker@mail.cor.epa.gov
Bradshaw, G. A.. USDA Forest Service, bradshaw@fsl.orst.edu
Carson,, . W.. Oregon State University, carsonw@ccmail.orst.edu
Fiorella, M. Oregon State University, fiorella@fsl.orst.edu
McAllister, M. Dynamac Corporation, mcallist@mail.cor.epa.gov
Bollman, . Dynamac Corporation, bollman@mail.cor.epa.gov

 
FINE RESOLUTION REMOTELY SENSED IMAGERY AS A FOUNDATION FOR RIPARIAN MONITORING IN PACIFIC NORTHWEST FORESTED LANDSCAPES
 
Despite the importance of stream-side riparian management in forested ecosystems, there is no tractable protocol in use for characterizing or monitoring these systems. Small features of riparian systems are functionally important at site specific scales and may be important over larger scales. This dual character poses an extreme form of the classic dilemma for those seeking to design a monitoring system -- evaluating tradeoffs between the amount of information required to meaningfully characterize a site and the amount of information needed to characterize a larger area, e.g. a watershed or a region. To support the design of a riparian monitoring system, we have identified a set of candidate indicators of riparian function such as numbers of snags, presence of large conifers, amount of forest cover. We evaluate the ability of field sampling and ADAR imagery (Airborne Data Acquisition and Registration System - 1 m and 3 m pixel multispectral imagery) to represent these indicators. We also examine the consequences on interpreting ecological function using representations of greater and lesser spatial resolution. These results allow us to make informed judgments about the design of a monitoring or characterization approach for stream-side riparian systems.
 
Day: Tuesday, Feb. 2
Time: 04:15 - 04:30pm
Location: Sweeney Center
 
Code: SS43TU0415S