Ducklow, H. W. The College of William and Mary School of Marine Science, duck@vims.edu
Smith, W. O. The College of William and Mary School of Marine Science, wos@vims.edu
Fandino, L. Scripps Institution of Oceanography, lfandino@ucsd.edu
Azam, F. Scripps Institution of Oceanography, fazam@ucsd.edu
Kirchman, D. L. University of Delaware, kirchman@udel.edu
Smith, D. C. University of Rhode Island, dcsmith@gso.uri.edu
Dickson, M. L. University of Rhode Island, dickson@micmac.gso.uri.edu
Carlson, C. A. Bermuda Biological Station for Research, ccarlson@bbsr.edu
Caron, D. A. Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, dcaron@whoi.edu
Dennett, M. Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, mdennett@whoi.edu

 
ALTERNATIVE SCENARIOS FOR BACTERIAL PRODUCTION IN THE ROSS SEA: CONVERSIONS AND CONSTRAINTS.
 
Bacterial production (BP) and bacterial carbon demand (BCD) were estimated from 3H-thymidine and 3H-leucine incorporation over the seasonal cycle during a single year (October, 1996-April, 1997) in the southern Ross Sea during US JGOFS-AESOPS. BCD was derived from BP estimates and experimental estimates of conversion efficiency. Depending on how BP was derived using empirical or standard factors, BCD was either a high (>50%) or a low (<5%) fraction of C14-based primary production. There is no a priori way of deciding which scenario is best. However, one can choose among the high and low scenarios by examining three other data sets: estimates of total plankton respiration from dark O2 utilization, DOC release from Phaeocystis in C14 experiments and rates of bacterivory in dilution cultures. Bacterial respiration should be less than total respiration. BCD should be less than direct DOC release since grazing on Phaeocystis was negligible. Finally BP should be equal to or greater than the demand from bacteriovores. Simultaneous fits of matched data sets will be explored in the presentation.
 
Day: Friday, Feb. 5
Time: 02:00 - 02:15pm
Location: Sweeney Center
 
Code: SS31FR0200S