Zhang, X. X. Horn Point Laboratory, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science, zhang@hpl.umces.edu
Roman, M. X. Horn Point Laboratory, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science, roman@hpl.umces.edu
Lascara, . C. Center for Coastal Physical Oceanography, Old Dominion University, lascara@ccpo.odu.edu
Burgett, . R. Center for Coastal Physical Oceanography, Old Dominion University, burgett@ccpo.odu.edu
Sanford, . A. Horn Point Laboratory, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science, asanford@hpl.umces.edu
Kennedy, . D. Horn Point Laboratory, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science, dkennedy@hpl.umces.edu

 
COMPARISON OF ZOOPLANKTON BIOMASS ESTIMATES WITH OPTICAL PLANKTON COUNTERS AND ZOOPLANKTON NETS IN CHESAPEAKE BAY
 
The Optical Plankton Counter (OPC) has been successfully used in some oceanic and fresh waters to estimate zooplankton biomass. However, it is not clear whether the OPC can produce a reasonable estimate of zooplankton biomass in estuaries with a high detritus load. As a part of the NSF Land Margin Ecosystem Research Program, TIES(Trophic Interactions in Estuarine Systems), we estimated zooplankton biomass simultaneously with an OPC mounted on a undulating towed vehicle and with a laboratory OPC connected to the ship's seawater pumping system. To test the capability of the OPC to estimate zooplankton biomass in Chesapeake Bay, we regularly collected zooplankton samples from net tows and from a pump. The dimension of the net mouth was identical to the tunnel of the towed OPC and the pump was connected to the laboratory OPC. The preliminary results show that the estimated zooplankton biomass from optical and conventional methods (net tows) are correlated. However, this relationship is influenced by the detritus load. We propose a possible algorithm to correct for detritus contribution to OPC estimates of zooplankton biomass.
 
Day: Wednesday, Feb. 3
Time: Poster
Location: Sweeney Center
 
Code: CS69WE0526S